analytics-icon

Richard SCHROEDER

French Photographer

From August 8th to September 2nd, 2018

The legend leaves no doubt : It’s after seeing ‘Blow Up’ that Richard Schroeder decided to make rock and movies as a photographer. The movies was rated PG-16, Richard was 15, he kept his word.

He was not yet 20 when the great Jacques Rouchon – his godfather - took him as his assistant and taught him  : image maker, a beautiful job. Starting with fashion – Shooting women, which young fellow would complain ? Then very quickly music, the end of the seventies, punks are here, the world changes, The Clash, Bashung, Gainsbourg…

First articles, first album covers, first personal work.

Cinema follows, along with encounters, Lynch, Cronenberg, De Palma… Photographs that we all know, portraits that struck us. More than taking the images, Richard loves the meeting. Spending a few hours with this artist or that writer, actor, director, musician as much as with any stranger, getting to know him, or her, then taking the photograph. That is probably why every photograph is different, as if he was capturing a small part of mystery, secret part, hidden part, digging the human part in each one of us. Shooting stars like strangers and strangers like stars, says he.

Rolling Stone, Vanity Fair, Elle, Paris Match, Première, Le Monde Magazine… Richard’s eye changes with the type – instants are still, not the look. Press images, Movie posters, plays, ads, short-movies, music vidéos, art photographs, black and white passion, but colour research, so many worlds he embraces without ever drowning. Knowing how to renew himself while keeping his style, a rock style, stripped, Dylan on his guitar, sounds of fingers on the handle, index on the release.

Beings with human faces, moving stills, photgraphs still in motion.

Diastème

analytics-icon

analytics-icon

analytics-icon

analytics-icon

analytics-icon

Richard SCHROEDER

Photographe français

Du 8 Août au 2 Septembre 2018


La légende est formelle : c’est après avoir vu Blow Up que Richard Schroeder décida de faire du rock et du cinéma en devenant photographe. Le film était interdit aux moins de 16 ans, Richard en avait quinze, et le garçon tînt parole.
Il n’en a pas vingt quand le grand Jacques Rouchon – son parrain - le prend comme assistant et lui apprend le métier : faiseur d’images, un beau métier. Au début par la mode – photographier des femmes, quel jeune homme s’en plaindrait ? Puis très vite la musique, fin des années soixante-dix, les punks arrivent, le monde change, Bashung, Gainsbourg, The Clash…
Premières publications, premières pochettes d’albums, premiers travaux personnels.
Le cinéma suit, avec lui les rencontres, Lynch, Cronenberg, De Palma... Photos que nous connaissons tous, portraits qui nous frappèrent. Plus encore que faire des images Richard aime la rencontre. Passer quelques heures en compagnie de tel ou tel artiste, écrivain, comédien, cinéaste, musicien, autant qu’avec les anonymes, rencontrer la personne puis la photographier. C’est sans doute pour cela que ses photos ne ressemblent pas aux autres, comme s’il captait une petite part du mystère en chacun, face secrète, face cachée, dénicher l’être humain en nous. Photographier les stars comme des inconnus, et les inconnus comme des stars, dit-il.
Rolling Stone, Vanity Fair, Elle, Paris-Match, Première, Le Monde Magazine… Le regard de Richard sait s’adapter au genre – les instants sont figés, pas le regard. Images de presse, affiches de films, de pièces, publicité, courts-métrages, clips, photos d’art ou d’essai, passion du noir et blanc, mais recherche en couleurs, tant de mondes qu’il embrase sans jamais s’y noyer. Savoir se renouveler tout en gardant son style, un style rock, dépouillé, Dylan à la guitare, bruit des doigts sur le manche, de l’index sur le déclencheur. Êtres à visages humains, natures pas vraiment mortes, photos qui bougent encore.
Diastème
Distribution : Contour by Getty Images

analytics-icon

analytics-icon

analytics-icon

analytics-icon